Uber or Lyft Car Accident?
Speak with our Uber and Lyft Car Accident Lawyers
Uber and Lyft Accidents: Rideshare Apps and What You Need to Know
Ride sharing as a mode of transportation has skyrocketed in the last few years. Apps like Uber and Lyft let passengers order a ride in a privately owned vehicle, paying through the cashless app on their smartphone.
Ride sharing apps have provided convenient and affordable transportation to millions of people. But, ridesharing causes new legal problems. What happens if you are in a car crash involving an Uber or Lyft car on duty?
What happens if you are a passenger in a rideshare car involved in an accident?
If you are in a car accident as a rideshare passenger, who will pay for your injuries, medical bills, and lost wages?
The good news is that Uber drivers are required to maintain their own driver’s insurance policy. Uber also offers up to $1 million dollars in coverage for underinsured, or uninsured, drivers.
The bad news is that reaching a rideshare company such as Uber or Lyft to make a claim can be difficult. It is even harder to get them to recognize any liability and pay for injuries.
Don’t let a rideshare company such as Uber or Lyft avoid your claim; an attorney will be able to advocate on your behalf.
What happens if the Uber/Lyft Driver is at fault?
Your rideshare driver is an independent contractor, not an Uber or Lyft employee. As a result, rideshare companies try to avoid any liability. Suing the app company may not yield a positive result.
Injured passengers must try to recover from the driver as an individual. In most accidents, the insurance of the party who is at fault covers the damages. But, in rideshare cases, things are not so simple.
Will the Rideshare Driver’s Insurance Cover My Damages?
Most personal insurance policies won’t pay if a driver is working during the accident. If a driver is using the app and available for rides, their personal policy won’t likely cover an accident.
An attorney acting as your advocate can make the difference between whether your claims are paid or denied.
Your insurance must pay Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/ Uninsured Motorist (UM) – Therefore, it’s recommended to keep Insurance coverage even if you don’t own a car.
What if Insurance Won’t Pay? What are My Options?
Just because you used an Uber or Lyft service doesn’t mean you don’t deserve compensation for your injuries. If your insurance claims fail, you can sue the driver, rideshare company or other vehicles which may be at fault.
If you take a driver to court, don’t try to take it on alone. Talk to an experienced personal injury attorney who will fight for you and get the recovery you deserve.
How much can I recover if I am injured in an Uber-related accident?
Car accidents can cause anything from minor injuries to catastrophic medical problems. Your potential recovery depends on how badly you’re hurt and on available coverage. Do you have unpaid medical bills? Have you missed work because of ongoing doctor’s appointments? An attorney can evaluate your case and give you an idea of the damages you can seek in your lawsuit.
What are the laws about ridesharing in Florida?
Florida recently passed a law to make rideshare apps a safer option for passengers. The new law requires insurance coverage of $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, $100,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage. There will also be background checks required for drivers.
The attorneys at FL LEGAL GROUP know how to handle rideshare accidents. If you are injured in an Uber or Lyft car, contact us to talk about how we can help you get the compensation for your injuries that you deserve.
Our phones are open 24/7.
Call us for a free consultation 1-800-984-9951, and let our team help get your life back to normal.
Governor Scott Signs Uber/ Lyft Bill. (n.d.). Retrieved May 15, 2017, from http://www.flgov.com/2017/05/09/governor-scott-signs-uber-lyft-bill/
Uber–Insurance For Driver-Partners. Retrieved May 15, 2017, from